Oakhurst Preschool, 86-88 Shinnick Drive,
Oakhurst, NSW 2761
Phone: 02 9835 3225 Or 0450 488 803 Click here to Email Us

Download Form

Our Programs

At Oakhurst Preschool we operate an emergent curriculum approach to programming which acknowledges the individual child. Our programme is based on the Early Years Learning Framework for Australia, “Belonging, Being and Becoming”. Oakhurst Preschool - Provides high quality child care services in Oakhurst, Blackett and Emerton. We provide experiences and an environment to support children as they work towards five learning outcomes which along with five principles and pedagogical practices form the Framework.

The outcomes are:

  • Children have a strong sense of identity
  • Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  • Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  • Children are confident and involved learners
  • Children are effective communicators

The five principles that underlie our practices are:

  • Secure, respectful and reciprocal relationships
  • Partnerships
  • High expectations and equity
  • Respect for diversity
  • Ongoing learning and reflective practice.

Individual portfolios document each child's growth and learning using photos, work samples, and written observations. These portfolios are presented to each child when they leave the centre and all outstanding fees are paid.

Parents Involvement in Our Programme

We welcome your feedback and involvement in our programme to help us gain an insight into the effect of the programme on your child. Please take the time to read our journals as your child appreciates your interest in their day. The staff also welcome your involvement in centre life. We have an open door policy and parents are welcome at any time. If you would like to be involved in our programme speak to the room staff so they can plan for your visit.

National Quality Standard

All services are assessed under the National Quality Framework (NQF) to ensure that
federally funded child care services operate to a regulated National standard. The National Quality Standard comprises quality areas, standards and elements. The seven quality areas are:

  • Educational programme and practice
  • Children's health and safety
  • Physical environment
  • Staffing arrangements
  • Relationships with children
  • Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  • Leadership and service management

All services will be assessed in these areas and rated. Services are also required to complete a Self Assessment and Quality Improvement Plan to ensure they continue to improve the quality of care and education provided for children.